MouseComp Data Log

In Stars And Time

June 8, 2024

i've been looking at a lot of media related to time loops this year? it's pure coincidence, i swear!!️

Doodles I did of Mirabelle and Siffrin, two characters from the game

In Stars And Time is my recent concluded journey, and it was an experience like no other. All I will say narratively is that it's about time loops and a party. That is all!

Apparently the concept started as a webcomic, and I can kind of get that vibe from the nice hand-drawn art style of the cutscenes and the general narrative presentation. While it's an RPG with some combat to engage with and things to collect, the greater emphasis on the narrative presentation and the way the game is built largely around serving this makes it feel a lot more like a visual novel or highly interactive comic rather than an actual RPG. I was completely down with that, and found one of the most engaging titles I've played in a minute. The cast is lovable, the narrative is equal parts fun, emotional, and haunting, the way the gameplay elements, the experiences of the player, and the experiences of the protagonist mesh together is perfect, and the ending was beautiful and made me very emotional. It was a total joy.

BUUUUT I CAN'T SAY ANY MORE! it's one of those games where I think you want to go in as blind as possible 🙏 in fact don't even look at the launch trailer! just check out In Stars And Time if it sounds like your cup of tea! thank me later? and make sure you have plenty of TIME TO SPARE HEEHEEHEE