MouseComp Data Log

The Sonic shipfic of my dreams

September 13, 2024

A long, long time ago, when I was an even littler mouse who couldn't have been older than maybe 13, I came across a Sonic the Hedgehog fanfic for Metal Sonic x Amy. The author could paint such a wonderful picture with words; it was just beautifully written and very emotional. The way it captured Metal Sonic's inner turmoil and the unspoken connection between him and Amy was amazing. I hadn't seriously thought about the ship before, but it was such a well-written story that I was immediately on board with it.️

Every once in a while, when I see a good piece of MetAmy fanart, I think back to that fanfic. I can't even recall anything specific about it, but I can recall how it made me feel.

I TRIED TO FIND IT AGAIN. OHHH I TRIED.

After lots of searching I eventually gave up (unfortunately resilience is not my strong suit...) and decided there must be only one conclusion: My tiny self was too stupid to know what good writing was, so while looking for this fabled dream fic I likely passed it without realizing it, unable to recognize how poor it really was! Perhaps some things should just remain memories...

Anyway, that's why I've decided I have to write a MetAmy fic of my own, now. I can't capture the contents of what I remember, but I want to try and capture the same things I felt. Let's get to work!!!

(but also, if anyone has any idea if something like that is real or not, please let me know! the only hint I have is there is a part of me that feels it might have had something to do with the death of Sonic? i may be completely wrong. i think it was multi-chapter, aswell...)